Minnesota EcoMoms-Chapter of the EcoMom Alliance


Beautiful World and Beautiful Food

When I was maybe 6, I grew a giant, giant-sized sunflower. I wanted to climb and get up to the clouds and see if it would be a sort of “Julie and the sunflower stalk”-type of an adventure. And because, I would like a goose that would lay a golden egg, too. Well….my sunflower stalk broke in half the second I grabbed hold of it and tried to have the flower support my body! At least, I tried and I have a wonderful childhood memory of interacting with nature and being outside playing.

Ibought some seeds and yes, a package of giant-growing sunflower seeds. It is time to get some seeds in dirt inside, so we can get them in the ground and eating them in late June, July, August and September. I have my baby seedlings growing in the dining room at the window with full southern exposure, I will transplant them into the backyard organic garden and put them into that fantastic garden-rich compost and worm castings, dubbed “gardner’s gold” when it is above freezing at night-maybe in late May.

Aidan and I bought some potting mix and a little hot house that holds 72 plant plugs. We went over to Sunnyside Garden and picked up a bunch of seeds then we went home and pushed little seeds into dirt. There is something of a primal release that occurs when you start digging your hands into dirt. We NEED to be connected to the earth, and bring it more into our every day experiences.

I am hopeful that plastic poisons are being outed in the New York Times and media as an interference to our health and wellness and the environmental poison that it is. Thanks EcoMom Amie for the article.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

